fbpx

Quick Guide To Marriage Laws in All 50 States

This quick guide is perfect for starting your research to making sure your elopement is legal in whatever state you choose to get married in. You might be surprised that many states don't require witnesses! However, several states do have waiting periods which could disrupt travel plans. As always, use this guide is a reference starting point but reach out to your photographer/officiant and the local county in which you'll be getting married in for further details.

Boho wedding dress during a simple ceremony in Florida for a Florida elopement

Alabama

Accepted Identification: for those 19 years of age and older, you must bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - valid driver's license, non driver's license, passport, birth certificate, military identification, or school record.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Alabama to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None. However, some counties require a 3 day waiting period for non Alabama residents. Contact the specific county for more information.

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Couple eloping on a glacier in Alaska

Alaska

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. A birth certificate may be required to show proof of age.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Alaska to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 90 days after license is issued.

Arizona

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Arizona to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 360 days after license is issued.

Arkansas

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Arkansas to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None if over 18

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

California

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of California to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 1 required witness but may have up to 2

License Expiration: 90 days after license is issued.,

couple giving a toast during wedding reception

Colorado

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Colorado to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 35 days after license is issued.

Connecticut

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You will also need your social security numbers.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Connecticut to recieve a marriage license. Application must be done in the town that you'll be getting married in.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 65 days after license is issued.

Delaware

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Delaware to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 24 hour waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Washington D.C.

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Washington D.C. to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: License never expires once issued

Florida

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You may be required to bring your birth certificate as well.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Florida to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: No waiting period for non Florida residents. For Floridians getting married in Florida, they must either complete a premarital course or wait a required 3 day wait period.

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

wedding venue ideas in austin, texas

Georgia

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Georgia to recieve a marriage license. You will be required to complete the application in the county that you will be getting married in.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: License never expires once issued.

Hawaii

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You will also need to verify proof of age, typically with a birth certificate.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Hawaii to recieve a marriage license. A license is valid on any of the islands.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Idaho

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. Original or certified copy of birth certificates is also required.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Idaho to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: License never expires once issued.

Illinois

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Illinois to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 24 hour waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Indiana

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Indiana to recieve a marriage license. If you are a nonresident, you will be required to apply for your marriage license in the town that your wedding is occuring.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Iowa

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Iowa to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 1 witness

License Expiration: License never expires once issued.

Kansas

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You will also be required to present your social security card.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Kansas to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes

License Expiration: 6 months after license is issued.

Kentucky

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. Along with your original birth certificate and social security card.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Kentucky to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Louisiana

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Louisiana to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Maine

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Maine to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 90 days after license is issued.

Maryland

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need to supply your social security number.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Maryland to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 2 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 6 months after license is issued.

Massachusetts

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need to provide your social security number.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Massachusetts to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Michigan

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also want to bring along your birth certificate and social security card.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Michigan to recieve a marriage license. Non residents will need to apply in the county they are getting married.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 days waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 33 days after the license is issued.

Minnesota

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: License is valid for 6 months from date of issue.

Mississippi

Age Requirement: Per the state, the legal age to marry is 21 years old. Those under 21 must have parental consent. The minimum age for males is 17 and minimum age for females is 15.

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Mississippi to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: License does not expire.

Missouri

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your birth certificate to show proof of age.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Missouri to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Montana

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your birth certificate to show proof of age.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Montana to recieve a marriage license. Non residents will need to apply in the county they are getting married in.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: Yes - Women under 50 years of age are required to take Rubella blood test. They can request to waive it.

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 180 days after license is issued.

Nebraska

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your birth certificate to show proof of age.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Nebraska to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: Expires 1 year after license is issued.

boho bride in death valley national park after her national park elopement

Nevada

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Nevada to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: Expires 1 year after license is issued.

New Hampshire

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your birth certificate to show proof of age.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of New Hampshire to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 days before license is valid

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 90 days after filing of the application

New Jersey

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll need your social security card as well.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of New Jersey to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 1 witness when APPLYING for your marriage license

License Expiration: Expires 6 months after license is issued.

New Mexico

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of New Mexico to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: License does not expire. It does need to be returned within 90 days of your ceremony.

washington aframe elopement

New York

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of New York to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 24 hours

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 1 witness

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

North Carolina

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. Also bring along your social security card.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

North Dakota

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of North Dakota to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses when application is filed

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Ohio

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your social security numbers.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Ohio to recieve a marriage license. For non residents, you'll be applying in the place that your ceremony is taking place.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Oklahoma

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of STATE to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 10 days after the license is issued.

Oregon

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Oregon to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Pennsylvania

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your social security cards.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Pennsylvania to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after the license is issued.

Rhode Island

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also be required to provide your birth certificate.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Rhode Island to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 90 days after license is issued.

South Carolina

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of South Carolina to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 24 hours

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: License does not expire.

South Dakota

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of South Dakota to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 20 days after license is issued.

Tennessee

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Tennessee to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Texas

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Texas to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 90 days after license is issued.

Utah

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your social security number.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Utah to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Vermont

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Vermont to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Virginia

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Virginia to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Washington

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Washington to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 3 day waiting period

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

West Virginia

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID. You'll also need your social security card and your parent's names.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of West Virginia to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: No

License Expiration: 60 days after license is issued.

Wisconsin

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Wisconsin to recieve a marriage license. For non residents, you'll need to apply in the county where you are getting married.

Required Wait Time: Yes, 5 days however you can waive it at an additional cost

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: 30 days after license is issued.

Wyoming

Accepted Identification: Bring one of the following government issue photo ID's - passport, driver's license, non driver's license, or military ID.

State Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Wyoming to recieve a marriage license.

Required Wait Time: None

Blood Test Requirement: No

Witnesses Needed: Yes, 2 witnesses

License Expiration: License expires after 1 year.

Share this story

Comments Expand -
Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.